Howard County Blog

A Blog on what is going on in Howard County

Sunday, April 09, 2006

Columbia Elections

The Columbia Elections are upon us. The candidate forums are this week and next. I will be relying on you to be my eyes and ears on this, so please use the open threads to post your thoughts, discuss the elections, and share information.

Here is the list of upcoming candidates forums (for details on each villages election situation see below):

April 10: Wilde Lake Candidates' Forum, 7:30pm, Slayton House
April 11: Town Center Candidates' night, 7pm, Vantage House
April 17: Harper's Choice Candidates' Forum, 7:30pm, Kahler Hall
April 17: Hickory Ridge candidate forum. 7:30pm, Hawthorn Center
(CA rep. election is not contested)
April 18: River Hill candidate night, Claret Hall, 6020 Daybreak Circle
(Village Board only).


Harper's Choice
Absentee ballots have been mailed and received.
Candidates' Forum: April 17, 7:30, Kahler Hall
Election: April 22, 9am-3pm, near Harper's Choice Safeway. One vote per property.
CA rep. election only: Cindy Coyle and Dave Willemain


Town Center
Absentee ballots should be mailed on Monday or Tuesday.
April 11, Candidates' night, 7pm, Vantage House.
April 29, Election. 9am-2pm at Vantage Point Park (if inclement weather,Oakland Manor), and 10am-1pm at Vantage House and Evergreens House. One vote per property.


CA Rep:
Gail Broida
Jud Malone

VB (2 seats open):
Burt Knauft (Incumbent)
Stephen Meskin
Hugh Tousey
Linda Wengel of Evergreen


Wilde Lake
Absentee ballots were mailed March 30th but are delayed in the mail.
Absentee ballots are available at Slayton House.
Absentee ballots due at Slayton House before end of business day on April 21.
Candidates' Forum: April 10, 7:30, Slayton HouseApril 20th
Statements published in newsletter
Election: April 22, 9:00am - 4:00pm, front edge of parking lot of Wilde Lake Giant. One vote per property owner/tenant.

CA Rep (1-year term):
Phil Kirsch, present Wilde Lake Village Board Chair
Bill Santos, currently WLVB vice chair.

VB (All terms are 1-year; 5 seats open):
Sarah Croushler (incumbent)
Vince Marando (incumbent)
Mary Pivar (incumbent)
Rhoda Toback (incumbent)
Linda Odum
Bob Vogel


Hickory Ridge
April 17, candidate forum. 7:30pm, Hawthorn Center.
April 22, election, 9-3, Hawthorn Center. All are 1-year terms.

Columbia Council Rep: Miles Coffman is running unopposed.

Village Board (7 candidates - including all 5 incumbents - for 5 seats):
Tom Louden (incumbent)
Gregg Schwind (incumbent)
Nancy McCord (incumbent)
Linda Hitzelberger (incumbent)
David Zeitzer (incumbent)
Dawn Ashburn
George Bendor


River Hill
April 18, candidate night, Claret Hall, 6020 Daybreak Circle.
April 22, election. 8-10am at Columbia Gym, then 10:15-am - 3pm at Claret Hall. One vote per resident aged 18+

CA rep.: Not open. Patrick Von Schlag will continue.

VB: 3 seats open, 4 candidates:
Todd Harrison, Incumbent
Larry Blickman
Sean Keller
Michelle Potocko


No contested elections:
Dorsey's Search
Kings Contrivance
Long Reach
Oakland Mills
Owen Brown


Post a Comment

<< Home